New To myMercy? Click Here To Read The How To Guide. ------- To View Current Volunteer Opportunities Click Here.

Excited to return to the Africa Mercy

Hi my name is Candace, I served on the Africa Mercy in 2013 with two of my co-workers.  I am an Operating Room Nurse and live in Fredericton, New Brunswick, Canada with my husband John (just celebrated our 18th Anniversary) and our 5yr GoldenDoodle Tilly.  I will be returning to the Africa Mercy in April 2019 (April 7th - 20th). I am looking forward to returning, however it will be a very different experience for me this time as I am traveling solo.  I will certainly miss having my co-workers/friends with me, however I am looking forward to meeting lots of friends onboard. I would appreciate any pointers in regards to travelling through the airports, what essentials you felt important to pack that may not be on the list and any other tidbits you may have on living onboard the ship.

Sincerely,

Candace

Comments

• AlyssaRoweAlyssaRowe Posts: 142 - Current Staff
    Hi Candace!

We are looking forward to having you back on board and apart of our OR Team! I hope you get lots of great pointers from our awesome community here.

Please let me know if I may assist you in any way!

Blessings,

Alyssa

Medical Recruiter
  • Hello Candace,

I am Judith Postmus from the Netherlands. I will be serving the mercy Ships from 7th-27th April as an anesthesia assistant :) So I will be arriving on the same day as you, it will be my first time and I travel alone as well. I really looking forward to meet you and the rest of the crew. Did you arrange already some things for traveling and staying on board.

• CarolineKirchnerCarolineKirchner Posts: 26

@JudithPostmus you will be serving with one of the best (crazy) doctors on board