New To myMercy? Click Here to read our "How To" guide!
To view current volunteer opportunities, Click Here!

Dentist and Social Worker

Hi Everybody,

My name is Paul and I am an Aussie Dentist. My wife and I have always wanted to volunteer on Mercy ships and now our youngest son is old enough (14) and the rest have flown the coop.

Some questions..

Im a Dentist - and I want to volunteer for 2 weeks - 1 month (I have my own surgery, so its hard to shut down for long unfortunately)

My wife is a Mental Health Social Worker and the Mercy Ship counselling positions (within the chaplaincy section) are minimum 10 months.

Any thoughts on how we volunteer at the same time, same ship, with our son?

Thanks for being such a welcoming community.

🇦🇺

Paul

Comments

• AndreaSchmidAndreaSchmid Programs Senior Staffing Manager Posts: 142 admin

@pauls_47

Hi Paul,

Thank you for your desire to bring hope and healing with Mercy Ships, serving as a Dentist! It is a wonderful thing that you want to serve as a family.

There are a very limited number of family cabins onboard the Africa Mercy, and they are primarily reserved for our long-term crew. Also, only certain positions qualify for a family cabin. Unfortunately, Dentists do not qualify. I am very sorry to give you this disappointing news.

In regards to your wife, as you have noted, Mercy Ships counselling positions require a minimum commitment of 10 months. She could apply to serve in a General role in Sales, Galley, Dining Room, etc; however, those positions generally have a minimum commitment of 3 months.

All this to say that, unfortunately, we are unable to accommodate your request to serve as a family at this time. I hope you will still consider serving with us as a Dentist. I am truly sorry for this disappointment.

• pauls_47pauls_47 Posts: 6

Hi Andrea,