New To myMercy? Click Here To Read The How To Guide. ------- To View Current Volunteer Opportunities Click Here.

Current student with a passion to serve

Hi all!

My name is Kaitlin and I am currently a student of Physical Therapy in the U.S. About two years ago I had the opportunity to volunteer in a physical therapy clinic in Dakar, Senegal not associated with Mercy Ships. While I was only in Dakar for one month during 2017, the lessons I learned and the authentic passion that was instilled in me to serve in Africa in my future career stay with me to this day. Prior to beginning Physical Therapy school (May 2018) I was a student at Bethel College (2014-2018). During my time at Bethel I heard of Mercy Ships as a nursing student from Bethel served on one of the ships. Recently as I have been praying for direction on next steps after school, I began to think again of this organization. As I dug deeper into Mercy Ships, I realized that the Africa Mercy serves in Dakar. Upon learning this, I can't help but to learn as much as I can about the Africa Mercy and to get more connected with those who have served/are serving/want to serve. I still have quite the journey left in my schooling as I do not graduate until 2021 and will need to get experience under my belt before I can serve others well. However if anyone has words of advice for a current student with a passion to serve please feel free to comment or send a message my way! I would love to hear about your experience and I am all ears to any advice as to what options there are for students/young professionals who want to serve as early as possible out of school!

Thanks for taking the time to read and reach out :)

With gratitude,

Kaitlin E.

Comments

• SummerRosenbalmSummerRosenbalm Posts: 9 - Current Staff

Hi Kaitlin,

I am thrilled to hear that you are interested in serving with Mercy Ships! And how exciting that you went to Senegal a few years ago!