New To myMercy? Click Here To Read The How To Guide. ------- To View Current Volunteer Opportunities Click Here.

Introducing Myself

I've taken the bold step forward to apply as a volunteer for the Africa Mercy. My hopes are to onboard in Dakar, Senegal in 2019 in the position of "Writer" as I am currently a Florida-based Freelance Journalist @ [http://pennydickersonwrites.com] It has been both an earthly dream and a spiritual calling to story-tell and report narratives from Africa and further walk into my calling to do Missions work. It all seems to click like a "Lego" with the possibility of Mercy Ships, so I pray this goes well.

In the meantime, I have questions. If you have ever served in the capacity of a writer, please share with me your day-to-day responsibilities. Is your schedule flexible? Where are stories published? How much time do you spend at the Hope Center and Dental Clinic? And while it sounds random, exactly how small are the sleeping berths and while I've read the ship was "chilly," are the cabins hot or cold? (I've heard hot). Thanks for responding. Penny

Comments

• SarahLeffelSarahLeffel Posts: 14

Dear Penny, Hello! I can't help you with your questions, BUT just as a friend responding to your first paragraph--I totally understand praying and hoping this goes well!! I've applied to work in the Academy and would like to serve on the Senegal placement in 2019. I hope someone can answer your questions. And who knows, maybe I will see you in 2019! -Sarah

• writerappwriterapp Ms. Posts: 15

Sarah, thank you for reaching out with a response. I had no idea you left a comment back in December. Since my post, I have had my Skype interview and so, the wait begins. I continue to read myMercy and check out the thoughts, concerns, enthusiasms of so many awesome people. Yes! Maybe we will see each other this year in Senegal.

• IrmaNoortIrmaNoort Posts: 15